232323232fp43445_nu=3263_465_349_WSNRCG=3539666_97326nu0mrj

About a year and a half passed, and I was doing just fine, without a pet. Then Lucy showed up. My neighbor, Janeta, came over and said, “Did you see the cat that’s been sleeping on your back porch?” “No,” I said. Janeta took me into the backyard and I met Lucy.

She was obviously a stray. Her tail was short. It had been cut off and a thin, sinew-like piece of it was still there marking the original length. She was petite, and light gray, with very pretty eyes. She was friendly, but cautious. Also, suspiciously chubby in the middle. Maybe pregnant? It was March and still cold out. She needed a place to stay. Janeta and I made her a warm place to stay on the covered, back porch. Yes,  she did stay, and I named her Lucy.

